National Student Fee and Support Systems in European Higher Education – 2018/19

By Gerry O Sullivan

Posted: 16 November, 2018

Where in Europe can students study without paying fees? Which countries charge the highest fees? What kind of financial support is offered to students, and who actually receives it?

This report aims to provide both an overview of the main features of national fee and support systems and more detailed information on each individual country across Europe. You will discover that all European countries offer at least one type of direct public financial support, grants or loans, to their higher education students and that the most widespread approach to allocating grants gives priority to socially or economically disadvantaged students.

The report is structured in two main parts: a comparative overview ‘Key Points’, and a set of national information sheets. Information covers the 28 EU Member States as well as as Albania, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Switzerland, Iceland, Liechtenstein, Montenegro, Norway, Serbia, the former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia and Turkey.