The Lifelong Learning Programme, Erasmus+, supports higher education student with a study period or traineeship in one of 33 participating European countries as part of their undergraduate or postgraduate degree.

Erasmus+ offers students the chance to expand their geographical and intellectual horizons through studying and working throughout Europe.

Students who go on Erasmus will have the option to study at one of 4,000 eligible higher education institutions in Europe (for a period of 3 to 12 months) or undertake a traineeship at a host enterprise (for a period of 2 to 12 months). While on Erasmus, students are exempt from paying tuition fees at the host institution and regularly receive financial support from the European Commission to help cover their expenses. The Commission supports students for a maximum of 12 months and a student can start their mobility anytime from the end of their first year in university to one year after they graduate (post-graduation students are only eligible to take part in traineeships).<

Upon completion of their study programme, students receive full recognition of their Erasmus study programme utilising the European Credit Transfer System (ECTS).

Guide to Erasmus

Erasmus+ 2015 Brochure

Erasmus Student Charter

Student Testimonials

Testimonials - NUI Galway

Further Information on exchanges in Europe

Study in Europe

Eurodesk - Information on travelling, working, studying and volunteering in Europe

Study in Europe


CampusFrance - Information on France