UNIVERSITIES IRELAND (UI) was founded in 2003 by the nine university presidents on the island of Ireland to promote and develop cooperation between their institutions (the Open University in Ireland became its 10th member in 2011). The Centre for Cross Border Studies provides its secretariat.

UI currently supports a number of initiatives aimed at fostering Irish scholarship, such as:

The North/South Postgraduate Scholarship Scheme

The Irish Section of the international Scholars at Risk network