National Student Fee and Support Systems in European Higher Education – 2018/19

Gerry O'Sullivan

Posted: 16 November, 2018

Where in Europe can students study without paying fees? Which countries charge the highest fees? What kind of financial support is offered to students, and who actually receives it? This report aims to provide both an overview of the main features of national fee and support systems and more detailed information on each individual country across Europe. You will discover that all European countries offer at least one type of direct public financial support, grants or loans, to their higher education students and that the most widespread approach to allocating grants gives priority to socially or economically disadvantaged students. The report is structured in two main parts: a comparative overview ‘Key Points’, and a set of national information sheets. Information covers the 28 EU Member States as well as as Albania, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Switzerland, Iceland, Liechtenstein, Montenegro, Norway, Serbia, the former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia and Turkey.

Our use of cookies

We use necessary cookies to make our site work. We'd also like to set optional analytics cookies to help us improve it. We won't set these optional cookies unless you enable them. Using this tool will set a cookie on your device to remember your preferences.

For more detailed information about the cookies we use, see our Privacy Policy page

Necessary cookies

Necessary cookies enable core functionality such as security, network management, and accessibility. You may disable these by changing your browser settings, but this may affect how the website functions.

Analytics cookies

We'd like to set Google Analytics cookies to help us to improve our website by collecting and reporting information on how you use it. The cookies collect information in a way that does not directly identify anyone.