Brexit – European Commission Statement

Gerry O'Sullivan

Posted: 3 February, 2020

European Commission Statement

With the ratification of the Withdrawal Agreement by both the UK and the European Parliament, Brexit came into effect as of 01/02/2020. The transition period will end on 31/12/2020.

The Withdrawal Agreement foresees UK participation in the current 2014-2020 programmes, including Erasmus+ and the European Solidarity Corps, until the closure of the programmes, meaning that UK beneficiaries can continue to take part in grants awarded under the current Regulations until all activities are completed, even if it is after 2020.

The Erasmus+ Contingency Regulation (19/03/2019) and the 2020 General Contingency Regulation (19/12/2019), adopted to mitigate a possible risk of a “no deal Brexit” will therefore not apply.

As of 1 January 2021, the UK will be treated as a third country for purposes of access to EU programmes, including Erasmus+. The possible participation of the UK in future programmes after 2020 will depend on the outcome of the overall negotiations on the future relationship between the two parties.

Our use of cookies

We use necessary cookies to make our site work. We'd also like to set optional analytics cookies to help us improve it. We won't set these optional cookies unless you enable them. Using this tool will set a cookie on your device to remember your preferences.

For more detailed information about the cookies we use, see our Privacy Policy page

Necessary cookies

Necessary cookies enable core functionality such as security, network management, and accessibility. You may disable these by changing your browser settings, but this may affect how the website functions.

Analytics cookies

We'd like to set Google Analytics cookies to help us to improve our website by collecting and reporting information on how you use it. The cookies collect information in a way that does not directly identify anyone.