Image of the 2020 Erasmus+ Programme Guide cover

European Commission allocates over €2m to Ireland for student and staff mobilities to regions outside Europe

Gerry O'Sullivan

Posted: 3 December, 2019

The Erasmus+ National Agency at the Higher Education Authority has been allocated €2,174,715 for the 2020 Call in the area of International Credit Mobility.  The fund will support student and staff mobility flows to and from regions/countries outside of the EU/EEA.

For full information:

Key Features:

  • Mobility between Programme and Partner Countries Duration: 24 or 26 months.
  • Applicants have to submit their grant application by 5 February 2020 by 12:00 (midday Brussels time) for projects starting on 1 August of the same year.
  • Study  periods:  from  3 to  12  months  (including  a  complementary  traineeship  period,  if planned).
  • Traineeships: from 2 to 12 months
  • Staff Visits From 5 days from and to Partner Countries to 2 months, excluding travel time.  A teaching activity has to comprise a minimum of 8 hours of teaching per week.
  • A student coming to Ireland will receive €900 per month plus airfare – see page 48 of  Programme Guide 2020 for top-up amounts for air travel.
  • A student going to a Partner Country will receive €700 per month plus airfare – see page 48 of  Programme Guide 2020 for top-up amounts for air travel.
  • A staff member going to a Partner Country or coming to Ireland will receive €180 per day plus airfare – see page 51 of  Programme Guide 2020 for top-up amounts for air travel.

Erasmus+ International Credit Mobility – Guide for Organisations

RegionBudget Allocation (€)
European Neighbourhood Instrument - South401,087
European Neighbourhood Instrument - East207,574
Eastern Area Partnership Window - Georgia
Eastern Area Partnership Window - Moldova10,000
Eastern Area Partnership Window - Ukraine50,000
South Mediterranean Window - Tunisia10,000
Juncker Algeria Window15,000
Juncker North Africa Window - Morocco, Egypt, Tunisia, Libya, and Algeria50,000
Development Co-operation Instrument - Asia297,121
Development Co-operation Instrument - Central Asia71,267
Development Co-operation Instrument - Middle East36,477
Development Co-operation Instrument - Latin America94,563
Development Co-operation Instrument - South Africa43,872
IPA Western Balkans118,967
Industrialised Americas89,725
Industrialised Asia81,453
Key Action 107 International Credit Mobility Budget Breakdown 2020 – Ireland
Region Countries
European Neighbourhood Instrument – South Algeria, Egypt, Israel, Jordan, Lebanon, Libya, Morocco, Palestine, Syria, Tunisia
European Neighbourhood Instrument – East Eastern Partnership Armenia, Azerbaijan, Belarus, Georgia, Moldova, Territory of Ukraine as recognised by international law
ENI Russian Federation Territory of Russia as recognised by international law
IPA Western Balkans Albania, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Kosovo, Montenegro,
DCI Asia Afghanistan, Bangladesh, Bhutan, Cambodia, China, DPR Korea, India, Indonesia, Laos, Malaysia, Maldives, Mongolia, Myanmar, Nepal, Pakistan, Philippines, Sri Lanka, Thailand and Vietnam
DCI Central Asia Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Tajikistan, Turkmenistan, Uzbekistan
DCI Latin America Argentina, Bolivia, Brazil, Colombia, Costa Rica, Cuba, Ecuador, El Salvador, Guatemala, Honduras, Mexico, Nicaragua, Panama, Paraguay, Peru, Venezuela
DCI Middle East Iraq, Iran, Yemen
Industrialised Americas Canada, United States of America, Chile, Uruguay
EDF/ACP Angola, Antigua and Barbuda, Bahamas, Barbados, Belize, Benin, Botswana, Burkina Faso, Burundi, Cameroon, Cape Verde, Central African Republic, Chad, Comoros, Congo, Congo Democratic Republic of the, Cook Islands, Djibouti, Dominica, Dominican Republic, Equatorial Guinea, Eritrea, Ethiopia, Fiji, Gabon, Gambia, Ghana, Grenada, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Guyana, Haiti, Republic of Côte d’Ivoire, Jamaica, Kenya, Kiribati, Lesotho, Liberia, Madagascar, Malawi, Mali, Marshall Islands, Mauritania, Mauritius, Micronesia – Federated States of, Mozambique, Namibia, Nauru, Niger, Nigeria, Niue, Palau, Papua New Guinea, Rwanda, Saint Kitts And Nevis, Saint Lucia, Saint Vincent And The Grenadines, Samoa, Sao Tome and Principe, Senegal, Seychelles, Sierra Leone, Solomon Islands, Somalia, South Sudan, Sudan, Suriname, Swaziland, Timor Leste – Democratic Republic of, Tanzania, Togo, Tonga, Trinidad and Tobago, Tuvalu, Uganda, Vanuatu, Zambia, Zimbabwe.  In addition West African countries –  Burkina Faso, Cameroon, Chad, Cote d’Ivoire, the Gambia, Ghana, Guinea, Mali, Mauritania, Niger, Nigeria, Senegal.
Industrialised Asia Australia, Brunei, Hong Kong, Japan, (Republic of) Korea, Macao, New Zealand, Singapore, Taiwan

Erasmus+ International credit mobility

Our use of cookies

We use necessary cookies to make our site work. We'd also like to set optional analytics cookies to help us improve it. We won't set these optional cookies unless you enable them. Using this tool will set a cookie on your device to remember your preferences.

For more detailed information about the cookies we use, see our Privacy Policy page

Necessary cookies

Necessary cookies enable core functionality such as security, network management, and accessibility. You may disable these by changing your browser settings, but this may affect how the website functions.

Analytics cookies

We'd like to set Google Analytics cookies to help us to improve our website by collecting and reporting information on how you use it. The cookies collect information in a way that does not directly identify anyone.